# IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY

### NOMINATION FOR THE ORDER OF THE KNOLL EMERGING PHILANTHROPIST AWARD

The **ORDER OF THE KNOLL EMERGING PHILANTHROPIST AWARD**, given on behalf of lowa State University, recognizes individuals or couples who, at age 50 or younger, have provided support and creative leadership to the lowa State University Foundation and lowa State University through the advancement of philanthropy. Those being nominated should support the university through their personal philanthropy as well as provide service to the university by promoting fundraising.

### QUALIFICATIONS AND CRITERIA: WHEN NOMINATING AN IOWA STATE DONOR FOR THIS AWARD, PLEASE CONSIDER THE FOLLOWING GUIDELINES.

#### QUALIFICATIONS:

For an individual or couple (50 years old or younger at nomination), who is making a continuing impact on the lowa State University community. Nominee must be a member of the Order of the Knoll.

- Providing substantial philanthropic support (\$50,000 or more in cumulative gifts or pledges)
- Qualifying for membership in the Order of the Knoll at the time of nomination
- Creative leadership to the Iowa State University Foundation and Iowa State University through the advancement of philanthropy

#### **SELECTION CRITERIA:**

#### 70 PERCENT IS WEIGHTED ON PERSONAL PHILANTHROPY TO IOWA STATE

- What is the nominee's total giving to the university?
- What is the duration of their giving? Has their giving been consistent?
- To what area(s) of campus have gifts been given?

#### 30 PERCENT IS WEIGHTED ON SERVICE TO ISU AND THE IOWA STATE FOUNDATION (service needs to be involvement

#### that has taken place after graduation)

- Committees, boards and activities the applicant has been involved with at the foundation and university that promote philanthropy at Iowa State University.
- Leadership positions or offices held at Iowa State University and the Iowa State University Foundation.
- What effects has this service had on fundraising for the university/college/department?
- Specific accomplishments related to philanthropy the nominee has inspired or led.

#### PLEASE NOTE:

- All nominations are kept on file and are confidential.
- Any nominee not chosen will be reconsidered for two years following their original nomination with the consent of their nominator(s).
- Nominators are strongly encouraged to update nomination materials annually.

#### **NOMINATION FORM:**

#### Order of the Knoll Emerging Philanthropist Award

NOMINEE INFORMATION	
Name:	
NOMINATOR INFORMATION	
Name of nominator:	
Email:	Daytime phone:
Home address:	
Business name/title:	
Business address:	
Signature of nominator:	Date:

#### Please include two or three letters of endorsement/support from people other than the nominator.

# Please provide two or three examples of the nominee's qualifying traits in the following outline. <u>The entire form</u> <u>must be completed for the nomination to be considered.</u>

1. What is the nominee's total giving to the university and the duration of their giving? (The ISU Foundation can assist in providing this information.) What is the nominee's potential for future giving? (cash, pledge, planned gifts)

2. To what area(s) of campus have gifts been given?

3. List committees, boards and and activities the nominee has been involved with at the foundation and university that promote philanthropy at Iowa State University since graduation.

4. What effects has this service had on fundraising for the university/college/department?

5. List specific accomplishments related to philanthropy the nominee has inspired or led.

## SUBMIT A COMPLETED NOMINATION FORM AND ANY SUPPORTING MATERIALS BY MARCH 13, 2020, TO:

ISU Foundation, Attn: Communications, 2505 University Blvd, Ames, IA 50010.

If you have questions, please call Nicole Tupy at 515.294.9387 or ntupy@foundation.iastate.edu.

#### YOUNG ALUMNI RECIPIENTS:

- 1998 Joe Baker
- 1999 Peg Armstrong-Gustafson and Gregg Gustafson
- 2000 Roger Underwood
- 2001 Gage A. Kent
- 2002 Betsy Lynne Anderson Booth
- 2003 Not awarded
- 2004 Not awarded
- 2005 Kent A. Lucken
- 2006 Jamie Lucas Stensland
- 2007 Michael McBreen
- 2008 Jason Loutsch
- 2008 Jay and Karen Chapman
- 2009 Deeia M. Topp
- 2010 Tim Heiller

#### **EMERGING PHILANTHROPIST RECIPIENTS:**

- 2011 James DeLano
- 2012 Nancy Dittmer
- 2013 Kristyn and KurtTjaden
- 2014 David McDonald
- 2015 Ryan Pellett
- 2016 Steven and Mary Jane Foutch
- 2017 Harlan and Amy Asmus
- 2018 Jay and Julie Jacobi Karen and Doug Jeske
- 2019 David and Christine Slump