David McDonald

Born and raised on a farm in northeast Iowa, David McDonald graduated from Iowa State University in 1987, the recipient of the Wallace E. Barron Outstanding Senior Award and a bachelor’s degree in animal science. He began his career with OSI Industries in Chicago upon graduating and worked his way up to become president and chief operating officer.

Interested in utilizing resources to impact Iowa State, McDonald is active in the Agricultural Entrepreneurship Initiative and in 2011 arranged a visit to OSI facilities in China for a group of students, one of whom is now employed with the company. Additionally, OSI has supported a student intern, setting the stage for many future internship opportunities.

McDonald generously supports his fraternity, Alpha Gamma Rho, through scholarship funding. When building a fundraising campaign for Iowa State’s AGR house, McDonald was one of the first to step up in support. Additionally, he played a role in the naming of the Marvin J. Walter – AGR Fraternity Arena in the new Jeff and Deb Hansen Agriculture Student Learning Center.

Along with his involvement at Iowa State, McDonald generously gives his time to the St. Michael Parish in Wheaton, Ill., and serves as chairman of the board of directors for the American Meat Institute. He was awarded the ISU Alumni Association’s Young Alumni Award in 2004, marking a rewarding relationship with the alumni association.

McDonald and his wife, Malinda, have six children and live in Warrenville, Ill. Their two oldest children currently attend Iowa State, with the remaining four likely following suit. McDonald’s enthusiasm for all things Cyclone is a first-rate example of what makes Iowa State a special place, and his lifelong commitment to support the university will benefit students for years to come.


2008 Jay Chapman and Karen Heldt-Chapman
2008 Jason Loutsch
2007 Michael McBreen
2006 Jamie Lucas Stensland
2005 Kent A. Lucken
2004 Not Awarded
2003 Not Awarded
2002 Betsy Lynne Anderson Booth
2001 Gage A. Kent
2000 Roger Underwood
1999 Peg Armstrong-Gustafson
and Gregg Gustafson
1998 Joe Baker